Skip to main content

Preschool & Child Care Centers in Oakland, California

Oakland has 140 licensed preschool and child care centers (ages 2 to 5), licensed by the California Department of Social Services, Community Care Licensing Division. Each listing shows license status, capacity and the inspection information we have processed so far — free for parents.

Ages
Safety

Historical filter: no citations in available assessed reports, with an assessment within 2 years. Cards show a separate 12-month window. About the data

Licensed

OAKLAND MONTESSORI SCHOOL

DAY CARE CENTER

3636 DIMOND AND 3625 FRUITVALE, OAKLAND, CA 94611

Child care center
Preschool (inferred from license type)Typical for this license type
Ages
Ages not reported
Hours
Hours not reported
Capacity
74

Last state visit · October 2025

Record grade unavailableProposed site classification · not a licensing gradeHow this works · Citation data not yet assessedAvailability not reported

Severity timeline · 3 years

Proposed site classification · not a licensing grade

Available-record coverage is incomplete. Missing marks do not mean no visits or findings.

No assessed visits in the last 3 years

How this works ·

Licensed

OAKLAND PROGRESSIVE DAY CARE

DAY CARE CENTER

733 BEATIE STREET, OAKLAND, CA 94606

Child care center
Preschool (inferred from license type)Typical for this license type
Ages
Ages not reported
Hours
Hours not reported
Capacity
15

Last state visit · December 2025

Record grade unavailableProposed site classification · not a licensing gradeHow this works · Citation data not yet assessedAvailability not reported

Severity timeline · 3 years

Proposed site classification · not a licensing grade

Available-record coverage is incomplete. Missing marks do not mean no visits or findings.

No assessed visits in the last 3 years

How this works ·

Licensed

OMESCUELITA CHILD DEVELOPMENT CENTER

DAY CARE CENTER

2162 MOUNTAIN BLVD SUITE 200, OAKLAND, CA 94611

Child care center
Preschool (inferred from license type)Typical for this license type
Ages
Ages not reported
Hours
Hours not reported
Capacity
84

Last state visit · May 2026

Record grade unavailableProposed site classification · not a licensing gradeHow this works · Citation data not yet assessedAvailability not reported

Severity timeline · 3 years

Proposed site classification · not a licensing grade

Available-record coverage is incomplete. Missing marks do not mean no visits or findings.

No assessed visits in the last 3 years

How this works ·

Licensed

OUSD - ACORN/WOODLAND

DAY CARE CENTER

1025 EIGHTY FIRST AVENUE, OAKLAND, CA 94621

Child care center
Preschool (inferred from license type)Typical for this license type
Ages
Ages not reported
Hours
Hours not reported
Capacity
48
Record grade unavailableProposed site classification · not a licensing gradeHow this works · Citation data not yet assessedAvailability not reported

Severity timeline · 3 years

Proposed site classification · not a licensing grade

Available-record coverage is incomplete. Missing marks do not mean no visits or findings.

No assessed visits in the last 3 years

How this works ·

Licensed

OUSD - ALLENDALE PRESCHOOL

DAY CARE CENTER

3670 PENNIMAN AVE., OAKLAND, CA 94619

Child care center
Preschool (inferred from license type)Typical for this license type
Ages
Ages not reported
Hours
Hours not reported
Capacity
24
Record grade unavailableProposed site classification · not a licensing gradeHow this works · Citation data not yet assessedAvailability not reported

Severity timeline · 3 years

Proposed site classification · not a licensing grade

Available-record coverage is incomplete. Missing marks do not mean no visits or findings.

No assessed visits in the last 3 years

How this works ·

Licensed

OUSD - ARROYO VIEJO CDC

DAY CARE CENTER

1895 - 78TH AVE, OAKLAND, CA 94621

Child care center
Preschool (inferred from license type)Typical for this license type
Ages
Ages not reported
Hours
Hours not reported
Capacity
72

Last state visit · September 2026

Record grade unavailableProposed site classification · not a licensing gradeHow this works · Citation data not yet assessedAvailability not reported

Severity timeline · 3 years

Proposed site classification · not a licensing grade

Available-record coverage is incomplete. Missing marks do not mean no visits or findings.

No assessed visits in the last 3 years

How this works ·

Licensed

OUSD - BELLA VISTA

DAY CARE CENTER

2410- 10TH AVENUE, OAKLAND, CA 94606

Child care center
Preschool (inferred from license type)Typical for this license type
Ages
Ages not reported
Hours
Hours not reported
Capacity
64
Record grade unavailableProposed site classification · not a licensing gradeHow this works · 12-month citation record incompleteAvailable reports do not cover the full window.In assessed reports · latest assessed Mar 11, 2024Availability not reported

Severity timeline · 3 years

Proposed site classification · not a licensing grade

Available-record coverage is incomplete. Missing marks do not mean no visits or findings.

2023-12-01 to 2026-11-02; proposed site classification2024-03-11 · Inspection · No published severity · 0 plotted findings

How this works ·

Licensed

OUSD - BRIDGES ACADEMY PRESCHOOL

DAY CARE CENTER

1325 53RD AVENUE, OAKLAND, CA 94601

Child care center
Preschool (inferred from license type)Typical for this license type
Ages
Ages not reported
Hours
Hours not reported
Capacity
20
Record grade unavailableProposed site classification · not a licensing gradeHow this works · Citation data not yet assessedAvailability not reported

Severity timeline · 3 years

Proposed site classification · not a licensing grade

Available-record coverage is incomplete. Missing marks do not mean no visits or findings.

No assessed visits in the last 3 years

How this works ·

Licensed

OUSD - BROOKFIELD PRESCHOOL

DAY CARE CENTER

401 JONES AVENUE, OAKLAND, CA 94603

Child care center
Preschool (inferred from license type)Typical for this license type
Ages
Ages not reported
Hours
Hours not reported
Capacity
59
Record grade unavailableProposed site classification · not a licensing gradeHow this works · Citation data not yet assessedAvailability not reported

Severity timeline · 3 years

Proposed site classification · not a licensing grade

Available-record coverage is incomplete. Missing marks do not mean no visits or findings.

No assessed visits in the last 3 years

How this works ·

Licensed

OUSD - BURBANK

SINGLE LICENSED CHILD CARE CENTER

3550 64th Ave, Oakland, CA 94605

Child care center
Infant (inferred from license type)Toddler (inferred from license type)Preschool (inferred from license type)Typical for this license type
Ages
Ages not reported
Hours
Hours not reported
Capacity
24

Last state visit · February 2026

Record grade unavailableProposed site classification · not a licensing gradeHow this works · Citation data not yet assessedAvailability not reported

Severity timeline · 3 years

Proposed site classification · not a licensing grade

Available-record coverage is incomplete. Missing marks do not mean no visits or findings.

No assessed visits in the last 3 years

How this works ·

Licensed

OUSD - CENTRO INFANTIL DE LA RAZA

DAY CARE CENTER

2660 EAST 16TH STREET, OAKLAND, CA 94601

Child care center
Preschool (inferred from license type)Typical for this license type
Ages
Ages not reported
Hours
Hours not reported
Capacity
88
Record grade unavailableProposed site classification · not a licensing gradeHow this works · 12-month citation record incompleteAvailable reports do not cover the full window.In assessed reports · latest assessed Mar 21, 2023Availability not reported

Severity timeline · 3 years

Proposed site classification · not a licensing grade

Available-record coverage is incomplete. Missing marks do not mean no visits or findings.

No assessed visits in the last 3 years

How this works ·

Licensed

OUSD - EMERSON CHILD DEVELOPMENT CENTER

DAY CARE CENTER

4801 LAWTON AVENUE, OAKLAND, CA 94609

Child care center
Preschool (inferred from license type)Typical for this license type
Ages
Ages not reported
Hours
Hours not reported
Capacity
48

Last state visit · September 2026

Record grade unavailableProposed site classification · not a licensing gradeHow this works · 12-month citation record incompleteAvailable reports do not cover the full window.In assessed reports · latest assessed Mar 10, 2023Availability not reported

Severity timeline · 3 years

Proposed site classification · not a licensing grade

Available-record coverage is incomplete. Missing marks do not mean no visits or findings.

No assessed visits in the last 3 years

How this works ·

Licensed

OUSD - FRUITVALE PRESCHOOL

DAY CARE CENTER

3200 BOSTON AVENUE, OAKLAND, CA 94602

Child care center
Preschool (inferred from license type)Typical for this license type
Ages
Ages not reported
Hours
Hours not reported
Capacity
21

Last state visit · March 2026

Record grade unavailableProposed site classification · not a licensing gradeHow this works · Citation data not yet assessedAvailability not reported

Severity timeline · 3 years

Proposed site classification · not a licensing grade

Available-record coverage is incomplete. Missing marks do not mean no visits or findings.

No assessed visits in the last 3 years

How this works ·

Licensed

OUSD - GARFIELD PRESCHOOL

DAY CARE CENTER

1640 22ND AVE, OAKLAND, CA 94606

Child care center
Preschool (inferred from license type)Typical for this license type
Ages
Ages not reported
Hours
Hours not reported
Capacity
24
Record grade unavailableProposed site classification · not a licensing gradeHow this works · Citation data not yet assessedAvailability not reported

Severity timeline · 3 years

Proposed site classification · not a licensing grade

Available-record coverage is incomplete. Missing marks do not mean no visits or findings.

No assessed visits in the last 3 years

How this works ·

Licensed

OUSD - HARRIET TUBMAN

DAY CARE CENTER

800-33RD STREET, OAKLAND, CA 94608

Child care center
Preschool (inferred from license type)Typical for this license type
Ages
Ages not reported
Hours
Hours not reported
Capacity
72

Last state visit · August 2026

Record grade unavailableProposed site classification · not a licensing gradeHow this works · 12-month citation record incompleteAvailable reports do not cover the full window.1 complaint in the past 12 monthsIn assessed reports · latest assessed Mar 3, 2023Availability not reported

Severity timeline · 3 years

Proposed site classification · not a licensing grade

Available-record coverage is incomplete. Missing marks do not mean no visits or findings.

No assessed visits in the last 3 years

How this works ·

Licensed

OUSD - HIGHLAND

DAY CARE CENTER

1322 - 86TH AVENUE, OAKLAND, CA 94621

Child care center
Preschool (inferred from license type)Typical for this license type
Ages
Ages not reported
Hours
Hours not reported
Capacity
96

Last state visit · June 2026

Record grade unavailableProposed site classification · not a licensing gradeHow this works · 12-month citation record incompleteAvailable reports do not cover the full window.In assessed reports · latest assessed Mar 7, 2024Availability not reported

Severity timeline · 3 years

Proposed site classification · not a licensing grade

Available-record coverage is incomplete. Missing marks do not mean no visits or findings.

2023-12-01 to 2026-11-02; proposed site classification2024-03-07 · Inspection · No published severity · 0 plotted findings

How this works ·

Licensed

OUSD - HINTIL KUU CA

DAY CARE CENTER

11850 CAMPUS DRIVE, OAKLAND, CA 94619

Child care center
Preschool (inferred from license type)Typical for this license type
Ages
Ages not reported
Hours
Hours not reported
Capacity
101
Record grade unavailableProposed site classification · not a licensing gradeHow this works · 12-month citation record incompleteAvailable reports do not cover the full window.In assessed reports · latest assessed Mar 30, 2023Availability not reported

Severity timeline · 3 years

Proposed site classification · not a licensing grade

Available-record coverage is incomplete. Missing marks do not mean no visits or findings.

No assessed visits in the last 3 years

How this works ·

Licensed

OUSD - INTERNATIONAL CDC

DAY CARE CENTER

2825 INTERNATIONAL BOULEVARD, OAKLAND, CA 94601

Child care center
Preschool (inferred from license type)Typical for this license type
Ages
Ages not reported
Hours
Hours not reported
Capacity
72

Last state visit · January 2026

Record grade unavailableProposed site classification · not a licensing gradeHow this works · Citation data not yet assessedAvailability not reported

Severity timeline · 3 years

Proposed site classification · not a licensing grade

Available-record coverage is incomplete. Missing marks do not mean no visits or findings.

No assessed visits in the last 3 years

How this works ·

Licensed

OUSD - JEFFERSON

DAY CARE CENTER

1975 - 40TH AVENUE, OAKLAND, CA 94601

Child care center
Preschool (inferred from license type)Typical for this license type
Ages
Ages not reported
Hours
Hours not reported
Capacity
48

Last state visit · May 2026

Record grade unavailableProposed site classification · not a licensing gradeHow this works · 12-month citation record incompleteAvailable reports do not cover the full window.In assessed reports · latest assessed Oct 14, 2022Availability not reported

Severity timeline · 3 years

Proposed site classification · not a licensing grade

Available-record coverage is incomplete. Missing marks do not mean no visits or findings.

No assessed visits in the last 3 years

How this works ·

Licensed

OUSD-KAISER EARLY CHILDHOOD CENTER

DAY CARE CENTER

25 S. HILL CT, OAKLAND, CA 94618

Child care center
Preschool (inferred from license type)Typical for this license type
Ages
Ages not reported
Hours
Hours not reported
Capacity
56

Last state visit · March 2026

Record grade unavailableProposed site classification · not a licensing gradeHow this works · Citation data not yet assessedAvailability not reported

Severity timeline · 3 years

Proposed site classification · not a licensing grade

Available-record coverage is incomplete. Missing marks do not mean no visits or findings.

No assessed visits in the last 3 years

How this works ·

Other childcare options in Oakland

Why parents in Oakland use DaycareNearMe

Every safety record, decoded

We turn dense state inspection reports for Oakland providers into a plain-English safety view with any citations clearly listed.

Compare side by side

Line up to three programs on hours, ages, capacity, and safety records to decide with confidence.

Official inspection history

Citations from the state licensing agency, shown in plain English next to each provider.

How it works

  1. 1

    Search and shortlist

    Browse licensed providers in Oakland and save the ones that fit your schedule and your child's age.

  2. 2

    Check the safety record

    Open each listing to read its state inspection history and any citations, decoded into plain English.

  3. 3

    Contact and tour

    Reach out to your top choices, ask about openings and rates, and tour before you decide.

About preschool & child care centers in California

Licensed child care centers in California serve children roughly two to five years old and must maintain at least one teacher for every 12 children under Title 22, with classroom space, staff qualification, and health-and-safety requirements checked at inspection.

Centers are licensed and inspected by the California Department of Social Services (CCLD). Listings below show the inspection information we have processed so far, with any citations in plain English.

Preschool & Child Care Centers in Oakland — FAQ

How many licensed preschool and child care centers are there in Oakland?

Oakland currently has 140 licensed preschool and child care centers in our directory, sourced from the California Department of Social Services, Community Care Licensing Division. Each listing shows the provider's license status, capacity and the inspection information we have processed so far.

How do I verify a preschool provider's license in Oakland?

Open any listing to see its license number, current status, and state inspection history. You can cross-check the license number directly with the California Department of Social Services, Community Care Licensing Division. We recommend reviewing the inspection record and any citations before scheduling a tour.

How much does preschool cost in Oakland?

Rates vary by provider, schedule, and your child's age — preschool pricing is set by each program, so contact providers directly for current rates. Depending on your income, you may qualify for subsidized care through California programs such as CalWORKs child care or your local Alternative Payment agency.

What staff-to-child ratio is required for preschool in California?

California Title 22 requires licensed child care centers to staff at least one teacher for every 12 preschool-age children. Ratios are checked during state inspections; each listing's inspection history shows any staffing citations.

How do I choose between the preschool and child care centers in Oakland?

Start with the safety record: open each listing's inspection history and look for recent citations. Then compare up to three providers side by side on hours, ages served, and capacity, and tour your shortlist before deciding.

Preschool in nearby California cities